Spectrum maths

The Spectrum Maths series of books, aimed at primary and lower secondary level, were published to supplement the mathematics schemes that schools were already using. The series included books on investigations, data handling, games, algebra / shape and space, and number skills.

The series was defined in terms of three ability levels. Broadly defined, these levels were:

Starting (Year 1, Year 2 and Year 3)

More (Year 3, Year 4 and Year 5)

Go Further (Year 5, Year 6 and Year 7).

The books link activities contained within them to the attainment targets of using and applying, number, shape, space and measures, and data handling, National Curriculum levels were also assigned to the activities.

Each activity has comprehensive notes summarising the main content of the activity, the resources or equipment required and a section on possible extensions, with ideas for stimulating the able child.



Showing 18 result(s)

Starting Data Handling

This book in the Data Handling series from Spectrum Maths was primarily aimed at children working between National Curriculum levels one to three. Activities support children in learning about block graphs, Carroll diagrams, pictograms, frequency tables and mapping diagrams. Each activity contains instructions for...

Go Further with Games

This book, aimed at primary level, provides 40 games designed to practise and develop key mathematical skills in the areas of number and shape and space. Each activity includes a photocopiable game board or score sheet, a set of rules for the game, teacher’s notes about the mathematical content and objectives, the...

Designed to complement any maths scheme at Key Stages 1-3 and covering National Curriculum Level Descriptions 3-6, this third book on the topic of number skills features 40 photocopiable activities that will suit mainstream and less able pupils.

These workbooks have been developed to provide a wide range of photocopiable materials to meet teachers' needs across any mathematics curriculum. The four titles which make up the series are Games, Investigations, Puzzles and Mental Mathematics, and each title contains three books covering a range of ability levels...


Lists that tag this content