STEM Inspiration Awards

The STEM Inspiration Awards recognise the work done by a wide range of people, from within and without the teaching profession, to enrich the experience of young people around STEM subjects, and to promote the STEM agenda.

The 2016 award ceremony took place on the 24 November 2016 at the House of Lords, at a reception hosted by Lord Sainsbury of Turville with guests including Jo Johnson MP. The winners will be heading to Geneva in January 2017 for an exclusive trip round CERN, courtesy of the Science and Technology Facilities Council.

The awards will open for new applications in Spring 2017. If you are interested and wish to be among the first to know when the time comes, sign up to our newsletter today.


STEM Inspiration Award categories

STEM Ambassador

This award recognises significant voluntary contributions as a STEM Ambassador. 

STEM Apprentice

This award recognises the work of an apprentice or technician in industry who has inspired young people to follow vocational career routes. 

STEM Employer

This award recognises those STEM sector employers, who are not ordinarily involved in inspiring young people in STEM, that have supported their employees to become a STEM Ambassador, and then to actively engage with their local schools. 

STEM Club Award

This award recognises those STEM Clubs that have proactively engaged with STEM Clubs for the benefit of their students and schools. 

The Joan Sjøvoll STEM Leadership Award

This award recognises the dedication of a school leader who has driven forward the STEM agenda in their school. 

STEM Teacher

This award recognises those teachers who have shown a strong commitment to STEM for the benefit of their students and school. 

Please note that for all of the awards it is the quality of each individual nomination that is considered, not the volume of nominations for a particular person or group.

Find out more

The winners of the STEM Inspiration Awards 2016

STEM Ambassador

Joanne Haskins, Turner Townsend

STEM Apprentice

Eilidh Peat, Lifescan Scotland Ltd

STEM Employer


STEM Club Award

Ashcroft Technology Academy, London

The Joan Sjøvoll STEM Leadership Award

Susan Quirk, Ysgol Glan-y-Mor, Burry Port, Carmarthenshire

STEM Teacher

Dan Stephens, Stour Valley Community School