Home > News and views > View all

Congratulations to the shortlisted nominees of the STEM Inspiration Awards

Published: Oct 8, 2018 2 min read

STEM learning

The STEM Inspiration Awards celebration event will be held in the House of Lords on 1 November 2018.

Our judges have had the tough job of going through all the amazing applications you’ve sent in and whittling them down to just a handful of shortlisted nominees. We had a fantastic number of applications come through and it’s been wonderful to see how much work is being done to support young people with STEM subjects.

We’d like to congratulate the following shortlisted nominees:

Inspirational STEM Engagement project award

  • Children and Parents as Engineers, University of West England
  • Get into STEM, ESH Group
  • Native Scientist Project
  • Quantum in the Crowd, University of Bristol

Outstanding STEM Club award

  • Abraham Moss Warriors Junior at the Heart of the Community
  • Bayside Comprehensive School
  • Denny High School
  • Didcot Girls School
  • Pool Academy
  • Ramsden Primary School

Outstanding STEM Ambassador

  • Kev Stannard, Royal Air Force
  • Kevin Ford, Retired Teacher
  • Robert Bates, Royal Air Force Defence Equipment and Support
  • Susan Ross, University College London

Outstanding new STEM Ambassador

  • Harry Beedham, AECOM
  • Kate McWilliams, EasyJet
  • Mariya Tarabanovska, University of Manchester
  • Vicki Johnston, Farrans Construction

STEM employer - large companies award

  • Airbus UK
  • Amey
  • Just Eat
  • Legrand Electric Limited
  • Nissan Motor Manufacturing UK
  • UK Hydrographic Office

STEM employer - small and medium enterprises

  • Beck Greener
  • Booth Welsh
  • Innovate Malvern CIC
  • Web Applications UK

The Joan Sjøvoll award for STEM leadership

  • Alexis Monks, PA Consulting
  • Glynis Dean, Royal Air Force
  • John Lowe, IMechE
  • Mike Bowen, Jacobs UK Limited
  • Vicky Stewart, Atkins, member of the SNC-Lavalin group

Outstanding STEM technician award

  • Lynne Chapman, University of Liverpool
  • Marissa Healey, Montgomery High School
  • Sophie Finch, Ryburn Valley High School
  • Stephen Pickles, Renishaw PLC

If you haven’t been shortlisted then don’t worry, you can always apply next year. Keep up the fantastic work!