Celebrating inspiration: winners of the 2017 ENTHUSE Celebration Awards announced

ENTHUSE Celebration Awards winners 2017

On 20 July 2017, the winners of this year’s ENTHUSE Celebration Awards were announced at a prestigious event at the House of Commons.

The ENTHUSE Celebration Awards recognise and celebrate a range of inspirational teachers and technicians from across the UK.

This year, we held a number of events to celebrate the quality of teaching and leadership around the country. The winners from all four of these events came together at the House of Commons for the final event.

Yvonne Baker, Chief Executive of STEM Learning, said:

“We all remember our inspiring teachers, and how much of an impact they can have on our future aspirations. It is such an honour to celebrate the amazing teachers and technicians through the ENTHUSE Celebration Awards - every one of the nominees is a winner, and I know that each of them will continue to make a difference to young people’s lives across the UK.”

Simon Chaplin, Director of Culture and Society at Wellcome  said:

“Wellcome has been investing in the professional development of science teachers for nearly 15 years and is a proud supporter of Project ENTHUSE. It’s a great pleasure to hear about all the amazing things that the nominees and winners of ENTHUSE Celebration Awards are doing to inspire young people up and down the country. We want all children to be engaged by science from the early years onwards and see its relevance in their lives.”

The winners are:

2017 ENTHUSE Award for Excellence in STEM teaching – Primary
  • Michelle Walsh, Edwards Primary School
  • Rachel Wolford, Hythehill Primary School
2017 ENTHUSE Award for Excellence in STEM teaching – Secondary
  • Clare Devlin, St. Colm's High School
2017 ENTHUSE Award for Excellence in STEM teaching – FE
  • Catrin Williams, Grwp Llandrillo Menai
2017 ENTHUSE Award for STEM Primary School of the Year – supported by the Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851
  • Sandfield Close Primary School
2017 ENTHUSE Award for STEM Secondary School of the Year
  • Skipton Girls' High School
2017 ENTHUSE Award for STEM FE College of the Year
  • Cambridge Regional College
2017 ENTHUSE Award for Excellence in STEM teaching – technicians and support staff
  • Kylie Burbage, Jane Chawner, Kirsty Fogg and Elizabeth Toms, George Spencer Academy

Share this resource

Press release

If you would like to contact the organisation regarding any press or media opportunities please email marketing@stem.org.uk or call 01904 328300.

Contacting us

If you have any ideas for stories and features on the site please email feedback@stem.org.uk