CPD Quality Mark

What is the CPD Quality Mark?

The CPD Quality Mark has been introduced as a quality assurance mechanism for individuals delivering subject-specific CPD within, or on behalf of, the National STEM Learning Network. 

Who is it for?

All presenters and facilitators providing CPD on behalf of STEM Learning, Science Learning Partnerships and Computing Hubs, including teacher presenters, are expected to hold STEM Learning's quality mark.

Stages of Accreditation

There are three stages to the quality mark based on the knowledge, skills, understanding, experience and expertise of the facilitator.

The three facilitator stages for accreditation:

  • Associate Facilitator

    In-school practitioners, teachers and technicians

    New consultants with limited experience outside of the school environment


  • Lead Facilitator

    In-school practitioners with considerable in school support experience of CPD facilitation and some consultancy

    SLP Leads with consultancy and facilitation experience 

    RDLs with a limited range of experience of consultancy

    Independent consultants with considerable experience in consultancy and/or CPD facilitation

  • Senior Facilitator

    Experienced lead facilitators with extensive experience

    Experienced teacher leaders with extensive experience of working across a range of institutions

    Senior consultants with extensive experience regionally and nationally

    RDLs with extensive experience of consultancy beyond the range of the SLP


Route to accreditation

  • Development programme

    New practitioners will be able to enter the CPD Quality Mark through the Facilitators Development Programme. There are three stages - Associate Facilitator, Lead Facilitator and Senior Facilitator and each stage will be assessed through a mixture of observation and analysis of impact data. 

    Find out more